Chakra Balancing In Ayurveda

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means ‘wheel’. As per ancient Hindu beliefs, Chakras are circular energy vortexes in the body, which spin like a wheel. The chakra symbol offers a wealth of meaning and lessons which we can apply to all aspects of our lives.

Chakra is also all about connectivity. These emblems come from ancient Hindu tradition which is steeped in the knowledge that nothing is separate from it. If we pull one thread, it affects the entire fabric of life.

Chakras are also known as guideposts for spontaneous work especially with colour. The colour therapy uses colour to re-balance the Chakras that have become exhausted of energy. Colour therapy can be shown to help on a physical level. However there are important issues around colours on the psychological and spiritual levels. Colour has a philosophical effect on all of us on all levels – physical, mental, spiritual and emotional. If our energy centers become blocked or worn-out, then our body cannot act in a proper way and this, in turn, can give birth to a series of problems on any level.

In our life, all experiences have an effect upon us. Some experiences will be positive while the rests will be negative. These are the negative experiences which can manifest themselves over time as disease and can lead to problems. For example, perhaps over the years we have been in a situation where we were unable to speak our mind for one reason or another or to express our needs and feelings. This can manifest as a problem in the throat chakra. The throat chakra relates, in the spiritual aspect, to self expression. Thus, if the expression has been blocked, the energy in this area will not be free flowing. Working with the appropriate colours can help to dispel negative feelings, free blocks and re-balance the body.

There are seven main chakras in the human body. Each of these seven chakras is found in one straight line from the top of the head to the bottom of the spine. The seven energy vortexes have their own individual traits. For instance, the seven main chakras are all different in colours. These colours correlate to the colours of the rainbow (Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange, Red) going from top to bottom.


The head Chakra is associated with the pineal endocrine gland. It governs the upper brain and right eye.


The Third Eye Chakra is associated with pituitary gland. It governs the lower brain, left eye, ears and nose.


The Throat Chakra is associated with the thyroid and parathyroid glands. It governs the respiratory system including the bronchial apparatus.

The Heart Chakra is the seat of balance within the body. There is no longer any concern with attachments to worldly pleasures, honours or humiliations

The Solar Plexus is related to transition from simple or base to complex emotion, energy, dynamism, willpower, assimilation and digestion.

Swadhisthana Chakra is the axis of our sexual and creative energy.

Moola Dhar
Moola Dhar is basically a root or base which is located in Pelvic Plexus at the base of our spine or tail bone.

 The root chakra, or Muladhara, is associated with the need for survival. The second chakra, Swadisthana, is associated with the need for emotional flow, desire, and sexuality. The third chakra, Manipuri, is associated with self-worth. The fourth chakra, Anahata, is associated with love. The fifth chakra, Vishudhi, is associated with the need for expression. The sixth chakra, Ajna, is associated with insight and intuition. And the 7th or crown chakra, Sahasrara, is associated with connection to the divine.

For better or worse, the seven chakra system has become reified in yogic culture; the seven chakras system is the “standard” system with which most students and teachers of yoga are familiar with. Many students and teachers of yoga may also have some familiarity with Ayurveda, the “Science of Life.” Ayurveda is a system of earth-based holistic medicine that was originally developed in ancient India but has evolved for contemporary application. Ayurveda uses three archetypal categories, called doshas, to understand balance in the body. These categories are Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. Vata is like air and ether. It is light, dry, and cold, and responsible for everything in the body that moves, communicates, and transports. Pitta is like fire. It is hot and slightly damp. Pitta is responsible for digestion, metabolism, and transformation in the body. Finally, Kapha is similar to earth and water. It is slow and stable. Wet and cold. Kapha is responsible for our stability, immunity, and strength.

[ Sharing is ]

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on tumblr
Share on delicious
Share on digg
Share on skype
Share on stumbleupon
Share on telegram
Share on pocket
Share on xing
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

More to Explore

error: Content is protected !!