Ayurveda Diagnosis

Diagnosis: Classical Ayurveda Approach

In Ayurveda, attention is paid to nature and directly observable attributes of the disease process itself and to the pattern of dosha disturbance in the individual. 

Understanding the disturbance, or “vitiation” of the individual’s normal dosha is the essence of Ayurvedic diagnosis and forms the basis for the therapeutic approach

As has been stated above, in addition to assessing the dosha vitiation, the physician also must understand the tissues affected, the srotas involved, the patient’s social circumstances, the emotional tendencies, personality traits, and the general state of the patient’s health and life. Clearly, this information gathering demands an extensive interrogation and physical examination which Ayurveda teaches as a two-part approach:
1) Diagnosis of the patient (Rogipareeksha)
2) Diagnosis of the disease (Rogapareeksha)

Rogipareeksha: Diagnosis of the Patient

The first of these, rogipareeksha, is the true strength of Ayurvedic diagnosis. It includes the physician’s judgment regarding the patient as a whole, his temperament, discipline, habits, digestive capacity, intelligence, hereditary traits, emotional set, finances, support system, desire to heal, and of course his constitutional type. Charaka also described a ten-fold methodology for this aspect of Ayurvedic diagnosis which is still in use today precisely as outlined below:
Ten-fold Ayurvedic Diagnosis (Rogipareeksha)

1. Constitution (Prakriti). 
2. Doshic Vitiation (Vikriti).
3. Quality of Tissues (Sara).
4. Body Compactness (Samhanana).
5. General Stature and Physical Proportionality (Pramana).
6. Physical Strength (Vyayama Shakti).
7. Adaptability (Satmya). 
8. Emotional Balance (Sattva).
9. Digestive Capacity (Ahara Shakti).
10. Rate of Aging (Vaya).

Rogapareeksha: Diagnosis of the Disease
The diagnosis of the disease, rogapareeksha, is aimed toward assessing the nature of the disease and is divided into three main activities:
1. Prashna (Interrogation).
2. Panchendriya pariksha (Physical examination using the five senses).
3. Ashtavidha pariksha (Specialized “Eight-fold” Ayurvedic examination). Below in table form:

Ayurvedic Eight-fold Examination (Rogapariksha)

1. Examination of the complexion
2. Examination of the eyes
3. Examination of the speech and voice
4. Examination of the tongue
5. Examination of the skin
6. Examination of the stool
7. Examination of the urine
8. Examination of the pulse

These three activities are applied to assess the nature of disease using the following rational and orderly approach. First one identifies the cause(s) of the disease (Nidana). Next, one evaluates the stage of progression of the disease or pathogenesis (Samprapti). This is followed by careful observation of any very early signs of disease (Purvarupa) and the overt symptoms of the manifest disease condition (Rupa). Finally, we derive additional information about the disease from how it responds to therapeutic interventions which are administered, i.e. response to treatment (Upashaya).

[ Sharing is ]

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on tumblr
Share on delicious
Share on digg
Share on skype
Share on stumbleupon
Share on telegram
Share on pocket
Share on xing
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a Reply

More to Explore

error: Content is protected !!